Hey Everyone, 

I'd just like to share one of the poems I wrote about love. I noticed that after I wrote it isn't a traditional love poem, but more like a satire of what "love" means to most men. (Sorry boys). Anyway, when I was writing this, I just kept thinking about how in some marriages even today, women are only "loved" by their husbands if they follow social orders that tell them to be silent, weak, and submissive---which sorry to say...we are most definitely, not! So, without further ado, I present my poem entitled "He loves me, he loves me not"


HE LOVES ME, HE LOVES ME NOT

He loves me 
When I’m beside him, behind him.
That’s where he loves me, following his lead.
Beside him, behind him.

He loves me not.
When I venture out on my own.
When I surpass him, or prove myself capable
Without him.

He loves me
When I’m silent.
When I stand beside him, behind him, as a
Pretty painted face.
Silent.
Always, pretending that I have nothing to say.

He loves me not,
When I break that silence.
When I let my voice drown him,
overpower him.
Because he knows I can.

He loves me, 
Because of the fact that I’m biologically built as a woman.
And socially constructed to be submissive and weak.  

But he loves me not
Because he knows I’m my own person,
Then and now.
And forever
'till death do us part.

-Abigail Huliganga




Leave a Reply.