I do plan on posting something up on wikipedia as well as this blog about digital mixed race...but that will be a little later on. As for now, I just want to say that in the midst of writing my critical essay (on automaton biographies) , I've begun to realize the beauty of Lai's poetry and how she's conveying such a deep message regarding war and nationalism and the unfair treatement of the civilians where there is military occupation through her descriptive, interesting, and somewhat confusing phrases. For example, in nascent fashion, as I read that poem over and over again, I began to get a more clear picture of what she's  talking about. It inspires me to want to write a poem about my own struggles or the struggles I see on a day to day basis. I wonder how long it took her to write this poetry book, specifically this poem because I feel like each and every word of hers is carefully chosen. Now if only I could ask her how she did it...

-Syeda Inamdar



Leave a Reply.