What does it mean to be "Americanized"? Do you feel like you have been "Americanized"?

I believe that to be "Americanized' means to essentially act white because those that don't specifically behave the way that is expected of their race and culture are immediately characterized as "Americanized." For example, someone once told me that I didn't act at all like the other Asian girls at my (high) school, meaning no accent or quirky asianistic behavior. Instead I was like a "white girl", aka "Americanized" in their eyes. Even though I see myself as Americanized, , I still have a strong connection to my Chinese heritage. However, I recognize being Americanized means that I have lost a part of my Chinese side in order to better fit into the greater part of American society.

-Megan Wong





Leave a Reply.