How much someone is "Americanized"  depends on how much he/she is assimilated by American society . Adding on to that, the American society harbors diverse communities each with their own set of values and therefore "Americanization" should be an equal mix of all the cultures (in an equally represented society anyway). Unfortunately, this is not so in our society. Social media has given other racial traditions more influence in America, particularly those of the Caucasian race. I feel that many minorities are not represented in American society and are often subject to stereotypes. In that sense, being "Americanized" mostly pertains to the values and traditions of Caucasians (at least in my opinion). Being a third generation Chinese-American, I've been almost fully immersed in "American" culture. I have very weak cultural ties to my ethnic traditions (I don't know how to speak Chinese) and can relate more to those of the Caucasian race.  This doesn't mean that I don't want to learn more about my roots! I'm very eager to learn more about my ethnic culture and will probably do so when I'm older.  : - D


Jordan Wong




Leave a Reply.