Picture
Hey everyone,

This week I wanted to share this article I found in the MIT Technology Review about Roboy: a robot with plastic "muscles".

Roboy is an attempt to create a robot that mimics human movement. Instead of the precise, calculated movements that are characteristic of traditional robots, Roboy moves in a very natural way since his design is based on the human body.

I thought that this article was interesting because Roboy seems like a really important step towards making androids like Rachel from Blade Runner a reality.


Here is the link to the article:
 http://www.technologyreview.com/news/518796/some-robots-are-starting-to-move-more-like-humans/

-Mark Craig

Kira
10/6/2013 10:44:13 am

I wonder if this technology could be used for prosthetics to move more naturally for amputees...?

Reply
Margaret
10/7/2013 05:32:53 pm

Very interesting! I also agree it could make someone like Rachel very possible? Also helpful for amputees!

Reply



Leave a Reply.