How has technology affected your relationships and overall quality of life?

    Technology has had mainly a positive effect on my relationships. It allows me to stay in touch more easily with friends who are far away, and to facilitate the continuation of intriguing conversations when we are apart. Some can argue that these friendships are not true friendships because they were partially formed through use of the computer, not through in-person interaction. However, my communications done through technology and the opinion and ideas shared always contribute to my friendships when I am with those people in real life.
    It has increased my quality of life by making it easier, such as in doing research, communication, doing homework, and being a source of entertainment. However, I realize that such a dependence on technology takes away from the humanity of life-of being able to personally connect with another human being. Therefore, technology also decreases the quality of life because it easily takes away the simple joys of daily interaction because we are too often glued to our pieces of technology(phones, games, computers, and tv).

-Megan Wong








Leave a Reply.