This is one of the prompts written by Geon Woo Lee: How would you respond if technology surpasses human knowledge?

My Response: Thinking about all the technology we have today, honestly, technology has already surpassed human knowledge. A basic example is a calculator. We cannot multiply 1294903 times 20348 in our heads, but if we type it in the calculator, it will let us know the answer in less than a second. Another example is an i phone. Yes, it's a "smart" phone and with Syree...if we ask her where the nearest restaurants are, she will let us know in seconds...this shows that she is programmed and thus knows more than we do. Honestly, on one hand, I feel that it is ok if certain technologies surpass our knowledge so that if we need an answer for something quickly, we can get it from that piece of technology. (I mean, I wouldn't want to do long division during homework when I have that TI - 84 calculator right next to me). So, technology somewhat allows efficiency for us so that all the busy work can be done by that piece of technology (the thinking part), while we just act on it.
    However, the downside of that is that because we are letting the technologies do all the thinking work for us, we are losing some of our own abilities. Again, with the calculator example, I've met people who literally forgot how to do long division. That's really unfortunate. As much as technology is there to help us, it's hurting us just as much, or even more. That's why I somewhat don't like the new i phones coming out or all these advanced technology that can be used as a replacement for our thinking because then it's just making us somewhat more lazy. I mean, I know that these technologies that have been designed to be "smart" should be complementing us and helping us with whatever we need to do, but I feel like we should use these technologies without sacrificing using our own intellegence in the process.

-Syeda Fareeda Inamdar





Leave a Reply.