All the short films of the robot stories were interesting. What surprised me at first was the Asian actors because I do not see Asian actors in movies or television shows much. It was different to see Asian actors as the focus of the short films. This showed me how we are affected by the media in ways we do not even notice or realize. The kinds of people that typically act in shows or movies make us develop expectations about who the actors would look like. By seeing that the robot stories had Asian actors, it made me see how the expectation of what actors look like was developed because of all the regular movies I watched that had only white people as the main actor. I did not even realize I had this expectation.

My favorite robot story is the "Robot Fixer" because it was heart-warming to see the mother try to find the missing pieces to her son's toys. She wouldn't be able to let go until she attempted to save her son, which she later realized she had to face the truth that he is dead.

Jason Li



Leave a Reply.